“In politics, stupidity is not a handicap.” -Napoléon Bonaparte

America touts itself as the ‘Land of the Free and Home of the Brave’. I guess ‘Land of the Imprisoned and Home of the Assholes‘ doesn’t have quite the same ring. Still, considering all of the tyrannical, war-torn places I could have been born, America is pretty good. There’s a slogan: America—Not as Bad as Some Other Places.

With every stroll of progress, we take two steps forward and one and a half steps back.
For example:

Can someone please explain to me how this meme of a human being is not only leading the 2016 republican presidential nominee polls, but significantly widening the gap between him and his slightly less absurd running mates? Anybody?

42 thoughts on ““In politics, stupidity is not a handicap.” -Napoléon Bonaparte

  1. Because, for better or worse (OK only worse), he is WYSIWYG. It’s also working for Bernie Saunders. The American frustration with Washington has found outlets and for the Republicans, it’s magnified by their disappointment with the Tea Party, supplier of most of his opponents, which was also supposed to be answer to same ole politics.

    1. I’m for Sanders, too. I think another Bush v Clinton ticket would be just as disheartening.

      As far as him being good for the race…it just scares me that so many see him as a legitimate candidate. Every time I think we can’t make bigger fools of ourselves, we do.

  2. I remember when he first said he was going to run, my GF thought it ridiculous, but I told her I thought he’d have a chance. I think his bravado is what draws people to him. He is like a walking meme and memes work.

  3. I never understand American politics at the best of times, but the presidential circus is in a world of its own. As soon as you’ve chosen a new one it seems time to start all over again. And the candidates for the supposed leader of the western world? I’ll say no more.

    1. I didn’t realize until recently how freaking long our cycle is compared to other countries. On the one hand, it gives candidates without a big name time to garner support, but mostly it just wears everyone out and makes candidates more reliant on people who can give them money to continue.

  4. I honestly don’t even consider this part of the real election cycle. The real election is too far away and there’s too much that could change. That said, my boyfriend is really into politics so I’ve still heard a fair bit about the election. In his opinion, this is actually kind of a good sign. It means the Republicans have gone so far to the right that they’ve lost touch with the swingable middle, and anybody who has enough pull with the Republican core is going to have a really rough ride in the general election.

    Another theory of his is that Trump never meant this to be a real campaign. He was just drumming up publicity for his hotels, and the Republican field is so lackluster now he kind of has to run with it. I think a Trump nomination would be wonderful for the nation; the majority of the country sees his campaign as such an obvious joke, he would practically guarantee a Democratic win.

    1. I certainly hope you’re right, but I put nothing past the Republicans after Palin.

      This may be the last scream of a dying generation who cannot adapt to equality. The whole field keeps getting crazier, so it seems logical that it should correct itself soon, but nothing about any of this has been logical.

      I can see how this might have been a stunt that got out of hand for Trump. Let’s hope he gets off the ride before the end and that we don’t lose too much dignity as a country in the meantime.

  5. Madalyn… (and roughseas indirectly 😉 ),

    I usually force myself to stay at a “safe distance” when the subject becomes American politics. In those rare occasions when I get drawn-in, like right now, my pulse and anxiety immediately rise. Why? Because I LOATHE abusive oversimplification littered with rhetoric. The majority of American voters are clueless and inactive when it comes to our municipal, county, state, and federal election processes AND their campaign environs — shitloads of money are tossed in and around like it’s cheap childrens candy! Furthermore, locating the critical thinking skills required to thoroughly understand the campaign-funds-agenda — let alone the Candidate’s track-record of civil PEOPLE service leading up to their candidacy! — is like trying to locate… well, here’s what I mean in cinematic form…

    One hunch I have personally for the drop in political wisdom among American voters is their impatience with the necessary time required to comprehensively examine each candidate’s campaign positions versus their full track record — or more precisely, laziness and apathy for civil duties and responsibilities that NEVER go away in one’s adult life. The other obvious hunch is the amount of money certain candidates either have or can generate; generate with a plethora of strings attached. 😦

    Not so along ago the American masses voted into the White House a former Hollywood actor! To me this indicates a tendency of voters to be… emotionally swayed by words and public image, or rather celluloid. LOL 😛

    1. I think the system is more responsible for apathy than the individual. Voting should be the simplest, most straight-forward task in American life. Instead, it’s one of the most convoluted. Add to that the rhetoric and team mentality of a two-party system with the disappointment that is first-past-the-post voting and you have an electorate that fails to see how their vote matters. Nevermind the fact that they don’t like any of the candidates.

      You can’t get a straight answer from most politicians and corruption is a given. Even when someone dedicates themselves to getting to know each candidate, they have a hard time getting in-depth information.

      I feel sorry for reasonable Republicans. I disagree with most of their core ideas, but there is no one reasonable left for them to vote for.

      I do think local elections should get more attention. After all, in many ways, they have more effect on our lives than the national ones.

      I am in favor of the idea Robin Williams had in ‘Man of the Year’ — every politician should have patches on their suit like a Nascar driver to show which corporations are backing them and the higher the contribution, the bigger the patch.

      1. I think the system is more responsible for apathy than the individual.

        Madalyn, you are spot-on correct; it is indeed a major contributing factor. I probably don’t need to go into an explanation as to WHY the system has progressively gotten more convoluted. You and many of us with an above-average education with evolving critical thinking skills — i.e. not party-line tunnel vision — KNOW why the voting registration processes and voting procedures via complex machines/computers on election day (let alone finding the most reliable most objective resources on the candidates) require nearly a PhD in physics from MIT. But in case you don’t 😉 I’ll give a hint: the nation’s Average Eduction Level Attained. Care to guess what it is? Particularly in Texas? And should I even get into ethnic diversifications and THOSE education levels, OR how expensive it is to attain those higher education degrees!? :/

        But when writing out my quick comment, (HAH!) I didn’t want to include 50-100 more words. LOL

        Nevertheless, as spot-on correct as you are Madalyn, in a democratic nation (at least in some ways in theory) and its available candidates… good or bad, it is the responsibililty of the ordinary citizen to cast their wisest vote. Hopefully that wisdom is NOT based on image and public speaking or television popularity…then more critically, NOT based upon who has the fattest wallet or bank account and the disguise of it… but instead based upon track-record and SERVICE to people. Let me repeat: A TRACK RECORD TO/FOR THE PEOPLE! Not a corporation’s bottom-line.

        But what tha hell does this above-average educated voter with critical thinking skills and patience know!? I’m a weirdo and minority… DAMN! And I’m not even ethnically or religiously challenged!!! LOL 😛

      2. Actually UK voting is straightforward. But, we also gave FPTP.

        Nationals also get more attention than locals, but because we have (or had when I was there) little devolutionised government, nationals made the difference: education, health care, tax rates, pensions, inflation, defence, social welfare, etc etc. Doesn’t leave local govt much to do apart from cut library opening hours.

  6. By the way Madalyn, during national or state elections, I pay no attention at all to any campaign commercials, candidate debates, nor news coverage of candidate speaches or reactions — it’s all too generic and repetitive. Besides, most candidates are in say-what-they-want-to-hear mode. I do my own research on the candidate’s history, background, and political track-record. Here is one GREAT 501-c non-partisan organization that has helped me tremendously be a more ‘objective‘ voter since 2008. I highly recommend it to anyone…

    http://www.procon.org/

  7. I am so pissed that Trump is even in the running, let alone so freaking popular. I am genuinely disgusted with the general population right now.

    Also, “America – Not as Bad as Some Other Places” is a perfect slogan. Haha!

      1. Exactly. I keep telling myself that if the Republicans put him on the ballot, the Democrats had better come out in droves to vote against him.

  8. Sorry, I’m so late, but I super love how many people here are for Sanders! I agree: I don’t want to see Trump or Bush or Clinton. I’m tired of all of them and tired of the same old politics from Washington. C’mon America! Let’s get this one right

Share your thoughts

